top of page

Out With The Old, In With The New..


I wrote this the day we locked the doors on Pensacola street for the last time. Well.... I locked the doors tonight for the last time at 2401 west Pensacola street suites C,D,E,and F. As I was moving out, painting, cleaning and finally locking the door, I couldn't help but think about how wonderful these past 15 years here have been. All the people who have come in and out of that door and have supported me have allowed me to live my dream. Becca, you will forever in my mind be 18 years old wearing a hippy dress, barefoot and coming to work from a George Clinton concert. Jolie, who knew when you walked through my door that day that you would be making a friend for life. I swear someone put something in my drink and please throw away all those 80's clothes. Jen Rider, please just let me dress you up one more time. Those knobs did really look good in your hair that night. They matched those snake skin pants. Jen Lueck, my gold and silver twin. I laugh at thoughts of you and me in my garage pricing things at three in the morning for my soon to open store. I wish you weren't so far away:( Cripper, did I really let you work my store? I finally got rid of the croamed male mannequin today. I wish I still had that orange jumpsuit to match your orange thong. I also thought about all the employees who have come and gone through the years. Together with all our hard work, we have succeeded. So many of your smiling faces ran through my head today. Jessica Sherman, my very first employee. I loved you in those patchwork pants and matching jacket. Cara, I remember when you came to me asking for a job with your denim overalls on. You told me that was your favorite outfit. Now, your one of the most stylish girls I know. DJ scully, Willy Mix and Will and Dave. Boy how times have changed. Who would have though the clubs would close at 2AM, and DJ's would mix there music from ipods. It's a lot less to carry around, that's for sure. Sally Poe, you are my ray of sunshine who tried to quit several times but I wouldn't let you go. Megan, my poolside buddy. Summers aren't the same without you. Matt, I'll always be your Tallahassee mom. I hope you didn't throw out your jorts. Joey, first my neighbor, then my employee and always my friend. I love you best with your mullet wig on. Karla, I thought of you most as I was painting over all the walls you and I painted and wallpapered years ago. I miss you. Kat, happy birthday you crazy kid. I love you tons. I was actually telling stories today of some of our NY escapades. Seedy hotels, karaoke, and Beacons closet. Thanks for always helping me carry my many bags. Amelia Badilia, you just make me smile. You are always up for an adventure with me. Photo shoots anyone??? Mermaids at Wiki Wachi, exploding convertibles and Polaroid cameras oh my!!! Lara, I've never since had an employee dress like you. A tight corset, a floor lenght skirt with a train, combat boots, a crown of braids on your head and the sweetest personality. You truly are a Renaissance princess. Malcolm, we've never really had fun and have no memories:) Just kidding! I can't even begin to list them all. Thanks for always being the best sport and going all out for our many occasions be it a birthday, a Christmas float or a fashion show. I can always count on you and You ROCK!!! Ali, you are like my creative soul mate. I could sit with you for months sewing, making head bands, and coming up with great ideas. I wish you lived closer. We would have like 15 projects going on at once. Lauren, Meghan, Katie , Rosie and Cari, Nelson, Laura, Katie, Liz, Gedhonne, and Allison. Stacey, you wouldn't take no for an answer and I'm so glad you were so persistent. You were one of the hardest workers I had and you mean a lot to me. Erin, Michalina, Maria and our last employee at Pensacola Street, Ryan, you have helped me more than words can say with this move. Thank you so much. Mar bear, we work so well together you came back for seconds!! You are irreplaceable!! You have helped me so much and I don't think I could have done this move without you!!! Work isn't like work when your doing it beside a best friend. I don't want to say too much because you will get a big head... oh I forgot, you already have a big head. So sorry that hat doesn't fit you but I'll take it:) Brownies anyone??? You All hold an important place in my heart and you are the ones that make up this Divas and Devils family. Thank you for all your hard work and loyalty. Thank you for 15 years. Mom and Dad, thank you for believing in me and when I called and said I wanted to open a little vintage clothing store, you said," you can do it and how can we help." I never stopped for a second to think about what would happen if I I don't succeed. That's something you had never taught me. You taught me to go after my dreams and the stars are not to high to grab. Phoenix and Talon, I took a mirror off the wall today and saw your scribbled name. You guys grew up in those stores and they are such a part of who you are. The bathroom was your nurseries and the racks; a place to hide in. The employees were always crazy about you and each influenced your life in unique ways. I love you both more that anything. You make my life complete. Sweet Elvis, you were and always will be our King. People still walk through the doors and ask about you. We miss you so much. Little Duncan, you were like a bull in a china shop. You were back up, put your head down and ram into the door to let yourself out. I always think of you. Miss Daisy, thanks for coming into our lives. You will rule 1300 north Monroe Street. Last but definitely not least, Carlos. There is no one else I would want to embark on this journey with. We sure have done it all, seen it all, haven't we? I think back to the day you brought me Elvis, Elvis' puppies in the store, dressing in crazy outfits (did we both really own and wear leopard pants?) DJ Pharaoh, the iron gate, Diesel parties, Angelic Soles, we threw 2 of the meanest Halloween parties that Tallahassee has ever seen, on and on and on forever......When ever I came to you with one of my crazy new ideas., you always backed me up and helped me make it happen. Thanks for loving me and never saying," WHAT IN THE WORLD ARE YOU WEARING????) You let me be exactly who I am and I love you for that; amongst hundreds of other things. SO..... What now? Well I'm ready for round two. I cant wait to see what 1300 north Monroe brings. Come make new memories with us. I can promise a lot of fun and some good stories to tell.

LOVE JULES


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page