top of page

Time to Re-FABULOUS

Even though it seems as though nothing really changes in the transition from December 31st to January 1st each year, other than the leftover smog in the sky from trails of fireworks and golden confetti scattered throughout your entire house from the night before, a new year provides us the opportunity to re-evaluate. In the same way each morning feels like a breath of fresh air, the morning of January 1st provides the same feeling in tenfold – you get to decide what the next year will bring, and how you can make that happen. You think about all of the great things you accomplished the year before, and reflect on the things you wish you perhaps could have changed. A new year means leaving those things in the past, bringing the learned lessons along with you, and making a few changes in order to grow and experience more. We make resolutions we may or may not keep, but in the end, even if just for a brief moment, we feel brand new again.

2016 brings to Divas & Devils HOUSE OF STYLE its 20th year anniversary, and with that being said, it also brings a lot of exciting changes and plans ahead. To start, we are bringing back our beloved blog, to share with all of you a glimpse into the life of being a Diva Dove, and how you can join us in our fight to bring to the world (or maybe just Tallahassee) peace, love, good music and of course – great style. To begin this new era of Diva-hood, each of us in-house divas began by each looking at our own styles, and thinking about each of our biggest fashion goals for the New Year. Even a Diva Dove sometimes needs to mix it up a little in her own wardrobe.

To begin we have Mother Diva herself, Michelle. For those that don’t know, she is the owner of Divas & Devils, and charms almost everyone she meets with her quick fashion sense and creativity. For those that do know her knows that not a day goes by that she ever looks disheveled or not put together. It’s only sometimes aggravating, but we love her all the same:

"It seems as though the last year turned from ‘fashion’ to ‘fashion work out.’ Even though it makes me proud to see that we are starting to incorporate health into that of an entire lifestyle, I fear that sometimes we get complacent with this comfortable attire. There is a time and a place, and that time and place is when you are working out or engaging in physical activities. I don't want ‘comfort’ to take the place of fashion.

Fashion is artistic and creative. Style is your way to express your innermost feelings to the world. When you look good, you feel good. Style belongs to you and it is all your own. Own it! Love it! Most importantly, you should be having fun with it.

One of my goals for 2016 is to wear all the fun things in my closet. I don't want to feel as if I have to wait for a special occasion. The special occasion is today. Each day is a precious gift and we should be celebrating that we are alive today and have the freedom to express ourselves. Remember one very important thing - The BEST part to EVERY outfit is your smile and a peaceful heart.”

Next is Barbara, our boutique’s store manager. She is the definition of a sweet heart and a kind soul, and not a day goes by without her welcoming in our customers as if they were a part of her own family – I mean everyone that walks in is absolutely apart of our divas family, she just makes it especially apparent.

“My goals for 2016 are to find more variety in my wardrobe while creating consistency. I know these two things sound like a contradiction, and they are, but let me explain. Rather than dressing a certain way some of the time, I want to live my style all of the time! I have a tendency to look like a rockstar one day and questionably homeless the next. I hope to find the passion to live through my style every day of the year, regardless of what that day may have in store for me. Through making this commitment, I also hope to develop more variety in my every day wardrobe. It's easy to fall into a rut, wearing the same general pieces or outfits day to day. I tend to obsess over a certain accessory or clothing item, wearing it over and over until one day I stop wearing it all together. This year, I plan to find more creative ways to utilize pieces in my closet that I already own, while also staying true and consistent to my style. I don't want my wardrobe to simply have the same boring outfits - I want special pieces that identify who I am, while representing my style and energy to everyone I meet! I refuse to limit myself to the same boring habits or rituals this year. I'm making the commitment to freedom, creativity, and being true to myself and my personal style all day, every day of 2016!”

If you frequent our shop, at some point you’ve seen a small lady running around making sure all of our in-house tasks are complete and that the Divas & Devils machine is well-oiled and everything is running smoothly. This is Thu, our director of operations, and while she may be small, she has a huge personality and one that is integral to our Diva’s family.

“Simple, clean, mod - just three words, but also just enough to describe everything that's dwelling in my closet. The phrase ‘less is more’ has always been something I have grown so accustomed to. Fashion is constant, trends come and go, but something that's always been around are bold prints and inviting patterns. I love seeing colors dance with one another as if they're doing a waltz and the spotlight is on them. They've always teased my eye but never enough to fully commit my heart. It's the start of a new year and I'm challenging myself to take on this new relationship with ornate patterns and prints. I always see intimate pieces on such wonderful men and women and envy how much confidence is emanated from within themselves as they wear these pieces. Fear of trying something out of the norm is not a part of me anymore. It's time to be courageous! Don't be afraid to try something that's completely out of your comfort zone, because someone wise once said ‘Outside of your comfort zone is where the magic happens.’ Flirt with fashion! Embrace who you are as a wonderful human being with a unique sense of style that is your own! But I have something to ask you, do you dare to dance with design?”

…And then we have Tayler, the newest addition to our little in-house family. She is our lovely intern, and is still learning the ropes of the everyday adventure that is Divas & Devils HOUSE OF STYLE.

“Without fashion, life just isn't as exciting. Fashion gives you the opportunity to change how the passersby on the street interpret who you are. You have the ability to be a new person every day. This year I want to expand my variety of style. I want to mix old with new, put pieces of vintage with the latest trends, style homemade items with designer brands and create an image that sparks interest. This is the Divas & Devils way, and I really want to start incorporating all that I have learned from this experience thus far into my style. This year is the year I will blossom as a fashionista and as my own person. I am ready to take every opportunity the universe provides for me to become the most stylish diva I have the potential to be.”

Lastly, but hopefully not least, we have me – Lexi Graham, the social media and marketing guru for our little humble fashion abode. What are my fashion goals for this year, you ask? It’s pretty simple, and been nagging on my brain ever since I started getting into the fashion world my junior year of high school. And perhaps it would surprise people, as most of my peers and friends would definitely agree that I’m not shy – when it comes to my style or otherwise.

Unafraid. In 2016, I want to learn and become unafraid. At first that might not appear to be a “fashion goal,” but fashion and one’s personal style, to me at least, is an outward expression of who you are, and in this case most importantly, who you want to become. When looking at my style, most of my friends and family would say I’m not at all fearful. They see me pair a shaggy jacket with some crazy velvet embroidered pants (that I’m obsessed with) like it’s no big deal, when really, every time I step out of the box with an outfit I’m constantly questioning if I look “okay” to the average Joe, or if what I’m wearing is acceptable for the event or activity I’m partaking in that day.

But what I’m realizing, and what I want to grow to accept, is I’m not the average Joe, nor should I be appeasing him or her with my personal style. I’m me, a girl who is a little crazy, a little fun, and very out of the box. If I want to wear an awesome vintage top that has sequins all over it to the grocery store, I’m going to! In 2016 I’m going to step a little farther out of my comfort zone, I’m going to own it, and the best part? – I’m going to shine.

We hope that some of you could relate to these fashion goals, and encourage you to look at your own closets and reflect this January. What are some things you want to try out this year? What are some pieces you absolutely love but have been waiting for some distant and far-off special occasion to wear them to? Share - we would love to hear!

Take inspiration from all around you. Be adventurous. Try new things. You never know what you like until you experiment. And if you need help...... Guess who is here for you.

❤️,

The Diva Doves


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page