top of page

Portal 3 Art Crawl

My Experience at Portal 3Art Crawl in Midtown.

Portal 3 was a “Fashion is Art” event hosted in Midtown, Tallahassee that the CMA Blog Team was lucky enough to get an exclusive invite to. The event was from 6 pm to 2 am, and I got in just as it was getting started! The art-crawl started at the Divas and Devils House of Style store front that was decorated with metallic silver balloons and live mannequins in the window displays. As part of the AURA exhibition, the models were clad in futuristic, inventive pieces in theme with the silver makeup and wigs they had on. The models in the window were so good I didn’t even realize they weren’t mannequins until someone pointed it out to me!

Entering in the Divas and Devil’s House of Style was like entering the vintage, trendy land of my dreams. This boho-chic tent caught my eye, filled with knee-high suede boots, graphic tees, and denim galore, and decorated with dream catchers and fairy lights. I had to capture it. Moving more into the store, I was able to witness artist Elton Burgest doing a digital drawing of a live model posing in an extravagant avant garde piece. The artist was drawing on a pad, which was then shown on his computer screen and also projected on a TV screen (not pictured). It was mesmerizing to watch!

Once I had my wristband, I was able to explore around the entirety of the event! The show–stoppers of the night included: a pop up shop of refurbished designer leather, a virtual reality experience done by the Dream Collection Agency, and a particularly fascinating art exhibit. In the pop up shop, I loved the way the Louis Vuitton leather pieces were transformed on to chic denim jackets, cute key-chains, and my favorite of all was the luggage-turned ottoman. The virtual reality experience was inside of Krewe de Gras and I was able to witness a man experiencing a virtual reality and it was pretty spectacular. It was so interesting to see all that went into the process, and into making sure he knew what he was experience wasn’t real while he was in the virtual world—peep the silver blanket; it was there to make noise when he moved to remind him where he really was! Finally, I wanted to spotlight the art piece on the TV pictured below with a mesmerizing background of cotton candy pink and blues, and the message: Go Adam, Go Eve. The World Is Yours. I loved this piece and I really enjoyed reflecting on its meaning.

I hope you all enjoyed reading about my experience at Portal 3! I loved attending this event and having the opportunity to share it with you guys!

All for the love of fashion, lifestyle & beauty! ​xo, chlo


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page