top of page

The STARLIGHT SIX

Looking for Scott's (one of the largest antique markets in Georgia), Chelsea and I found ourselves lost. Curve after curve, green field after green field, we were on these back roads for a while. The song on the radio began to fade as the station was now going in and out. "Are we even headed in the right direction anymore?" Up this hill then around another curve I expecting to see a pasture. My eyes strained as I saw something in the distance... Is that an old Drive-in movie theater?? I sat up straight in the seat as the excitement rushed in. I began telling Chelsea a story about growing up in Miami and going to the Tropical Park Drive-in Theater on Bird Rd. Every Saturday and Sunday morning, a huge flea market filled the rows. We would get there before the sun came up and looked through peoples junk with flashlights. My memories go as far back to me being pulled around the market in my red Radio Flyer wagon. The market and the Drive-in are no longer there but those memories sure are. As my story was coming to and end, we approached the sign. "Oh wow! It's actually still showing movies!" The sign read.... Starlight Six Drive-In Theater now showing Bourne Legacy, Spiderman and Brave.

I thought it couldn't get better than this BUT.....IT DID!!! As we rolled by, my head whipped around. "Is that a flea market going on?" It's a good thing there were no other cars around because I hit the brakes and made a U turn in the middle of the road. As our car filed in line to enter, someone approached the car and said it would be 50 cents to enter. 50 cents??? Seriously?? Who charges 50 cents these days? Is this real or I am dreaming?? It's kinda like seeing a merage in the desert. I found a parking space and anxiously jumped out barely waiting for Chelsea. As I began down the first isle, I smiled momentarily at the sound of salsa music and the smell of popcorn coming from the concession. I HAD NOT BEEN LOST AT ALL!!! I AM EXACTLY WHERE IM SUPPOSED TO BE!!!

We looked through trunks of old records, jewelry boxes of knotted up necklaces and stacks of used Levis. I had a pretzel in one hand and a bottle of ice cold water in the other. I dug though cardboard boxes and found a tooled leather belt with a large brass buckle. I looked through trays of rings till I had one on every finger. I purchased an original pair of blue blockers and perfectly broken in cowboy boots from a mexican cowboy sitting on the tailgate of his truck. I found a basket of 80's hair scrunchies but left those behind for the next shopper :) I looked at tea cups and flipped through antique books.

As Im paying for an Army jacket from Vietnam, Chelsea holds up a floral maxi skirt she found. Oh! Did I mention the pink elephant??

I live for the hunt, dont mind gettin a little dirty and love a good find. One mans junk is anothers treasure. It's the little things in life that make me happy and this day was one of them. Sometimes you may think you are lost ONLY to find that you are on a new path.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page